READER REVIEWS

 

An ABC of Prostate Cancer Today - 3rd Edition

 

Watch this space

An ABC of Prostate Cancer Today - 2nd Edition

Reviews from www.amazon.com

“I was diagnosed with Prostate Cancer (PC) and was advised to have it taken out. I was not ready to make that decision until I researched the options a bit. I found that most men travel the same path - their GP refers them to an Urologist who says "if it were me, I take it out. I'd want to know it was gone." If you ask about other treatments, you'll be referred to a Radiologist Oncologist, who typically performs photon beam radiation, or maybe also Brachytherapy (radioactive seed implants). You may or may not be told about other options. Since no one can make this decision for you, it's up to you to research and become informed. If you do not, you'll be following thousands of other men who have been cured of PC and deal with the affects. If you do, you'll find many other options, many of which offer similar rates of cure but with much different and potentially better side effects. If you want to research all the options, what they are like, what's their cure rate, side effects, availability, associated costs, etc., then cut to the chase and get this book.

 

I spent hundreds of hours reading research reports, medical blogs and cancer forums along with many hours talking directly to men who have had various treatments. This book not only sums up everything I learned but adds much more. Many suggested Dr Patrick Walsh's "Guide to Surviving Prostate Cancer", but IMHO this book is MUCH better.

One caveat to note: both Alan Lawrenson and myself admit that having a radical prostatectomy was not the preferred path.

 

If you are considering that approach, then by all means, read Dr Walsh's book - it's what he does. If you put value on studies and cure rates for other treatments, then save yourself time, money and frustration - read this book!"

☼☼☼☼☼ R. Morris - 21 March 2017

"When first diagnosed with prostate cancer I was motivated to learn more about the condition and treatment. All of the books I could lay my hands on to read were either too technical or out of date.
When I got the An ABC of Prostate Cancer Today book I found it so relevant and understandable that I could not put it down.
Alan clearly has done an incredible amount of research right from describing what prostate cancer is, how it is diagnosed, the myriad of options how it can now be treated, the side effects of treatments plus glossary of terms, useful website references and even a chapter on diet. I have added the focc Budwig mix to my diet (referred to in the book) and are very pleased with that discovery.
What I have learned from this book has empowered and helped me understand my condition and treatment options, for that I am grateful.


Thank you Alan. The book has to be a highly recommended read for all adult males".

☼☼☼☼☼ Noel Lawrence - 23 October 2016

My father died of prostate cancer and my brother recovered from it. So out of "self defense" I became a "friend" of the founder of the Prostate Cancer Research Center in Los Angeles to learn more and have done private research for 15 years and was honored to be called "One of the most knowledgeable laymen in the prostate cancer world." I even gave demonstrations of the new HIFU technology before it was FDA approved. With that said I wish I had written this book because it combines everything I have learned and much much more in an easy to read yet comprehensive review of current treatments and even some natural complimentary supplements. This man has done everyone with this health concern a great service. I am currently facing a rising PSA so I bought the book without expecting too much. Best money I ever spent.
Thanks Alan Lawrenson - my best wishes to you in Australia!

☼☼☼☼☼  Lawrence A Glickman  - 23 October 2016

"This easy to read updated version contains new sections on The plan to successfully, fight off cancer, an expanded section on Complementary therapies, updated diet and nutrition advise as well as explores alternative therapies. As with the first edition the open questions to consider are well thought out and very helpful".

☼☼☼☼☼  Dr Geoffrey B  - 3 October 2016

"I bought Alan’s first edition and as a Prostate Cancer sufferer I found the material very interesting. It shows that there are a number of choices out there that those afflicted with this disease should consider. The newer technology based solutions seem to offer more help with fewer side-effects. In his second edition Alan has added sections to explore the effect of diet and alternative therapies. These offer a broader set of tools and should definitely be looked at. Sadly few doctors are aware of the alternative treatments but the combination of both tradition and alternative may give many sufferers greater success.
This material is well researched and up to date. Prostate Cancer treatments are evolving rapidly and this eBook will help you get up to date. Both medical practitioners and laymen will get value from reading it. Recommended".

☼☼☼☼☼  Brian Travel  - 6 October 2016

An ABC of Prostate Cancer in 2015 (Australian Bookshop Titled An ABC of Prostate Cancer Today - 1st Edition)

 

Reviews from www.amazon.com

 

"As a writer I was impressed with Alan Lawrenson's book, "An ABC of Prostrate Cancer in 2015." It is comprehensive, while at the same time being clearly written and easy to understand. That is a balance not always easy to accomplish for any writer, but Alan takes the reader on the complex journey of Prostrate Cancer diagnosis and treatment in a way that draws the reader in, while giving helpful information along the way. The facts are given, but the reader also hears Alan's personal story which he shares with honesty and courage.
Alan's search for the best possible treatment led him to Proton Beam Therapy at the National Cancer Centre in South Korea. He gives detailed information about this and other treatments available. There is guidance on what to expect from visits to medical specialists as well as help with possible lifestyle changes.

I liked the way Alan told his story and shared his life in this book. It is interesting to read, well written and well researched, providing a huge amount of helpful information. This book will be a source of strength for others who are faced with the same diagnosis as Alan. It will also be a help to their families and those who support them".
☼☼☼☼☼ Vivienne Ball  (author and Journalist) - 11 January 2015

 

“A great layman's synthesis of prostate cancer - its diagnosis and treatment options! I would highly recommend reading this book if Prostate cancer has touched your life or the life of someone you love”.

☼☼☼☼☼ John P - 11 January 2015

 

“An excellent mix of in-depth technical information and personal experience”.

☼☼☼☼☼ Brian A  -  24 December 2014

 

“Very well researched, covering the various options men face when diagnosed with a high PSA result.
I liked the questions one should ask to better understand the risks associated with the various treatment choices. The book is easy to read and I highly recommend it”.

☼☼☼☼☼ Geoffrey B - 12 December 2014

 

“This is a well presented book about your choices. In parts it is a little technical and it has resource and reference sections with a number of useful web-sites and state-of-play reviews. I believe that it is almost an essential companion on the journey to find the best treatment for your specific prostate cancer. Read it and absorb its contents.
There are also many lessons to be learnt from Alan’s infliction with the disease and his progression to finally have proton beam therapy in South Korea”.

☼☼☼☼☼ Martin K - 10 December 2014

 

Reviews from www.amazon.com.au

 

“An interesting and very informative guide to practical measures. I would recommend this read to anyone concerned with prostate cancer”.

☼☼☼☼☼ Andrew C - February 2015

 

“This is a must read for anyone diagnosed with prostate cancer. It's your body and it's essential that you be armed with the best information to decide on your treatment. This book enables you to do this. It is very clear and exceedingly well researched. Highly recommended”.

☼☼☼☼☼ David B - 27 January 2015

 

“A good informative book which is easy reading. Excellent coverage of all the latest treatments and diagnostics. A must read book for all families who have a member inflicted with Prostate Cancer. The more than 100 questions to ask your Doctors was particularly helpful to my husband, a recently diagnosed prostate cancer sufferer”.

☼☼☼☼☼ Pamela G - 10 January 2015

 

Reviews from www.amazon.co.uk

 

“First things first, this book is NOT written by a doctor but by a patient who was diagnosed with PCa and went to considerable lengths to research each treatment option. It is written in layman's language and can easily be read in one sitting. The option chosen (Proton Beam Therapy) would be too costly for most but other options are considered in detail. Also, this book is excellent value.”

☼☼☼☼☼ David F- 3 January 2015

 

Review from www.barnesandnoble.com

 

“As a recently diagnosed prostate cancer sufferer, I found the book easy to read and covered most of the answers I was after about my condition. It really helped me in asking my specialist the right questions about my treatment options. It also allowed me to cope more adequately with what the author called “the Cancer Anxiety Factor”. It also opened my eyes to new treatment options like Focal Laser Ablation. I recommend the book without reserve”.

☼☼☼☼☼ Camel2 - 21 January 2015

 

Review by Dr Robin Wulffson, MD - LA Health Examiner

 

Significant advances in prostate cancer treatment in recent years and many options are available, ranging from watchful waiting to aggressive treatment with surgery and/or radiation therapy. Despite these advances, many men go forward without being well-informed of the treatment options available. A new study published online on February 19 in the journal JAMA Oncology by UCLA researchers stressed that men should be fully informed before going forward with prostate cancer treatment. A new book is available that provides a wealth of information regarding prostate treatment: An ABC of Prostate Cancer in 2015 by Alan G. Lawrenson.

Lawrenson has a scientific background, not in medicine, but in the physical sciences. When he was diagnosed with an intermediate grade prostate cancer in 2012, he did have some knowledge of the disease because his father had succumbed to the disease and his brother was diagnosed with the condition 12 years earlier. After getting over the initial shock of the diagnosis, he embarked on a fact-finding mission with the goal of attaining the most appropriate treatment possible. The result was his book, which is appropriately subtitled: My Journey over 4 Continents to Find the Best Cure. He cautions that his book should serve as a supplement to, not a replacement of, consultation with a physician specializing in prostate cancer treatment.

An ABC of Prostate Cancer is clearly written for the lay public. It can also be informative for general practitioners who may not be up-to-date on current treatment options. Not all prostate cancers should be treated with surgery or radiation; therefore, a chapter of the book is dedicated to active surveillance or watchful waiting. Various treatment options are discussed in depth, including surgery, radiotherapy, chemotherapy, cryotherapy, laser treatment, as well as complementary and alternative therapies. A chapter discusses support groups, which can help the patient through the ordeal. A section of the book describes Lawrenson’s personal experience with the disease.

In summary, An ABC of Prostate Cancer is an informative resource for any man confronted with the diagnosis of prostate cancer. http://www.examiner.com/article/be-proactive-if-you-are-diagnosed-with-prostate-cancer.

 

Official Review: An ABC of Prostate Cancer in 2015

 

Post Number:#1 by j p gilbert » 22 Dec 2015,

[Following is the official OnlineBookClub.org review of "An ABC of Prostate Cancer in 2015" by Alan G Lawrenson.

4 out of 4 stars

Review by J P Gilbert

 

According to the World Cancer Research Fund, “Prostate cancer is the second most common cancer in men worldwide.” [1] Their figures indicate that globally, there were 1,112,000 new prostate cancer patients diagnosed in 2012. If nature has dealt you, or someone very dear to you, a terrible misfortune where your future has just got very insecure indeed, then reading Lawrenson’s “An ABC of Prostate Cancer in 2015 – My Journey over 4 continents to Find the Best Cure,” may guide you through the minefield ahead.The World Cancer Research Fund considers a number of contributing factors when determining the possible causes of prostate cancer. Primarily, they point to age, genetics, obesity and height, and once Lawrenson started to notice his symptoms, he was odds on to be diagnosed with prostate cancer. Especially as Lawrenson was born a South African male and both his father and brother had previously been diagnosed. Therefore, by the time he reached “the right age,” he was, in his own words, "pre-conditioned to receiving bad news.”Lawrenson was considered a leading authority after forty-six years in the commercial science and medical equipment industries. He had reviewed endless scientific papers and journals, had attended countless conferences at a government body level, and it was his "way of working" to source the best available treatment, which probably was not available in his father’s day. This led to the production of this outstanding work for all future prostate cancer sufferers to benefit from.Lawrenson's book is in three parts: his diagnosis; a technical review of the current available treatment; and his choice of treatment. It is written is such a beautiful way and his command of the written word converses so eloquently with the reader. It is not a "how I recovered from prostate cancer" diary, nor is it a journal or medical publication. It is a shoot-from-the-hip no-holds-barred journey. Lawrenson delivers on the most difficult personal issues and answers very awkward and embarrassing questions, which some readers may prefer to have stayed between themselves and their urologist. But he empathises with the reader. He has been where the reader is now and takes their hand and lets them know that he has their back, metaphorically speaking.For me, Lawrenson’s book is an experience that will stay with me forever. I did not approach this book in the same way as a doctor or as a medical student would. I am not an academic or a research body. I am a layman –Joe Public and it made perfect sense to me. I did not read it in the conventional sense either, that is from start to finish. I jumped about. I read part one, three and then two because I thought the medical information might be to technical or hard going. Oh boy was I wrong! In part one, Lawrenson openly discusses his diagnosis and its impact on his emotion and physical wellbeing. He also mentions his frustrations with doctors who “only want you to know what they think you should know.” It is apparent that he wants patients to be aware of all available treatment options so they can self-manage their treatment plans with their choice of the most experienced and successful urologists. With this in mind he breaks down complicated issues surrounding the detection, grading and staging of prostate cancer and talks freely of known acquaintances' treatment and associated side effects. He makes reference to their lack of awareness of alternative treatment and suggests this may be the preferred treatment option of the consultant.Part two is the medical section. If you are a doctor, student or from a research body, then the depth of information will bring you up to date. In addition, following the comprehensive library of resources and references will keep you busy for a while. However, if you are a prostate cancer sufferer, you will be grateful for it. Honesty, I can only imaging the hours of research involved in producing this work. From the simplest treatment to the most cutting-edge, Lawrenson presents his findings in such a way that all readers from all walks of life will be able to understand it. He explores detailed descriptions of the most common treatments and presents the benefits, side effects, possible prognosis from a treatment plan and even provides a list of recommended questions to ask the consultant. Incidentally, where there is a subset of a particular treatment, for example, the various forms of radiotherapy, he discusses each variation in the same level of detail.After considering a wealth of options, enduring endless urologist appointments and a mass accumulation of air miles, Lawrenson in part three, is finally considering implementing his treatment plan. In his unique style, he still does not pull any punches. He touches on the associated cost - financial and personal, the benefits of Proton Beam Therapy, which must surely outweigh the financial burden placed upon the medical institution and then talks the reader through the weeks of his treatment sessions, where each session takes longer to set up than it does to deliver the actual treatment. For some, prostate cancer is not always a happy ending. It can be years of suffering and worry. This book will have an effect on the life of those who read it. May I suggest one last recommendation: read chapter fifteen before any other. This is where Lawrenson talks to the reader similar to that of a father figure and profoundly expresses himself and subconsciously acknowledges the support from his wife, family and friends. He suggests a support network is essential. I believe it to be critical.For me, though, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It provides hope through an awareness of choice. Despite not being a doctor, Lawrenson gives excellent advice. The reader is able to learn the language of the urologist and will be able to self-manage their illness more confidently.I rate this book 4 out of 4 stars and wish it changes your life. It did mine.

Sources: World Cancer Research Fund. Online at wcrf.org/int/cancer-facts-figures/data- ... statistics accessed 22/12/2015.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • c-youtube

© 2015 by Alan Lawrenson. Proudly created with Wix.com